The predicted contraindication… 

Ok and as if to completely contradict myself from yesterday my brain has awoken this morning and told me that I am a writer…

I still tried to stick to the to do list I made for myself but I did not manage the gym, and I woke up around half ten…

Everything else I have managed to so far do… Sort of.

(You can tell we are onlyjust leaving winter…) 

‘Write about what keeps you up at night’… I have read many quotes from famous writers about how to write… But naturally one from a fairly obscure writer is the one that sticks…

I both agree and disagree with this statement. As yes it is important to write about what you are passionate about but it is also important to find new things to write about as it adds a new dynamic to your writing. 

As making it seem alien or something outside your comfort zone, gives a new sensation to your writing. 

But again this depends entirely on what you want to write about, as some stories would suit these moments of unfamiliarity where as pthers do not.

It also depends on the theme and overall context of the whole thing.

As many stories suit having a story based entirely around things that the character knows and feels comfortable with, such as 1984 by George Orwell, odd to us but remember Winston (The main character) has lived his whole life like this. 

Others suit injecting more and more confusing things to the characters, such as Harry Potter, as remember that the whole world is alien to him and he is consistently introduced to more confusing things. 

So I guess my entire argument is mostly invalid, you don’t have to push yourself outside of your comfort zone but sometimes it does help… 

I guess all in all, it is your story, no one should tell you how to write it. You enjoy it, well you should enjoy it, if you dont then why are you writing it?

(On the road again? I’m not singing but I think that’s where I am…)

So can I reconcile the two, be a good writer and be in amazing shape? I dont know but I am going to hazard a guess and say no…

How can you be good at one thing if you are too busy focussing on another? 

Do you rmember that age old adage abour 10,000 hours? Basically some dude called Malcom Gladwell wrote a book called Outliers saying that you need to do 10,000 hours of deliberate practice to be classed as an expert in anything.

It has of.course since been debunked by science as some take less, some take more and passion has a bigger part to play than he puts across.

But that should give you some kind of idea as to the amount of effort you need to put into something to be any good at it. 

To be fair I have no idea why I am asking it as a question, I have always wanted to be a writer. I just dont want my physical health to suffer…

Leave a Reply

